COMELEC lists 63 official Senate candidates for 2019, excluded 85 hopefuls


The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) declared on Thursday, January 31, 63 official candidates who will be joining the senatorial race for the national elections this year.

In the official website of the Commission, five senatorial candidates under the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino–Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban), have been declared, while Liberal Party (LP) has five bets in the list.

The official list included former Sen. Sergio Osmeña III, who was facing “perpetual disqualification” for allegedly failing to file his campaign expense reports twice, first in 2010 and again in 2016.

Sen. Aquilino Pimentel III was also on the list despite 2 petitions claiming he was no longer eligible to run in May.

The COMELEC said the poll body “gave due course” to the candidacy of the following:

  1. Abejo, Vangie (IND)
  2. Afuang, Abner (WPP)
  3. Aguilar, Freddie (IND)
  4. Albani, Shariff (WPP)
  5. Alejano, Gary (LP)
  6. Alfajora, Richard (IND)
  7. Alunan, Raffy (BGMBYN)
  8. Angara, Edgardo Sonny (LDP)
  9. Aquino, Benigno Bam (LP)
  10. Arcega, Gerald (WPP)
  11. Arellano, Ernesto (IND)
  12. Arias, Marcelino (WPP)
  13. Austria, Bernard (PDSP)
  14. Baldevarona, Balde (FFP)
  15. Binay, Nancy (UNA)
  16. Bong Revilla, Ramon Jr. (LAKAS)
  17. Caceres, Jesus (IND)
  18. Casiño, Toti (KDP)
  19. Cayetano, Pia (NP)
  20. Chavez, Melchor (WPP)
  21. Chong, Glenn (KDP)
  22. Colmenares, Neri (MKBYN)
  23. De Guzman, Ka Leody (PLM)
  24. Dela Rosa, Bato (PDPLBN)
  25. Diokno, Chel (LP)
  26. Ejercito, Estrada JV (NPC)
  27. Enrile, Juan Ponce (PMP)
  28. Escudero, Agnes (IND)
  29. Estrada, Jinggoy (PMP)
  30. Francisco, Elmer (PFP)
  31. Gaddi, Charlie (IND)
  32. Gadon, Larry (KBL)
  33. Generoso Gen Pederalismo (IND)
  34. Go, Bong Go (PDPLBN)
  35. Guigayuma, Junbert (WPP)
  36. Gutoc, Samira (LP)
  37. Hilbay, Pilo (AKSYON)
  38. Jangao, BFG Abraham (IND)
  39. Javellana, RJ (KDP)
  40. Lapid, Lito (NPC)
  41. Macalintal, Macaromy (IND)
  42. Mallillin, Emily (IND)
  43. Mangondato, Faisan (IND)
  44. Mangudadatu, Dong (PDPLBN)
  45. Manicad, Jiggy (IND)
  46. Marcos, Imee (NP)
  47. Matula, Jose Sonny (WPP)
  48. Meniano, Luther (WPP)
  49. Montaño, Allan (IND)
  50. Nalliw, Joan Sheelah (IND)
  51. Ong, Doc Willie (LAKAS)
  52. Osmeña, Serge (IND)
  53. Padilla, Dado (PFP)
  54. Pimentel, Koko (PDPLBN)
  55. Poe, Grace (IND)
  56. Roleda, Dan Kaibigan (UNA)
  57. Roque, Harry “Spox” (PRP)
  58. Roxas, Mar (LP)
  59. Sahidulla, Lady Ann (KDP)
  60. Tañada, Lorenzo Erin Tapat (LP)
  61. Tolentino, Francis (PDPLBN)
  62. Valdes, Butch (KDP)
  63. Villar, Cynthia (NP)

The poll body excluded the remaining 85 out of 148 aspirants who filed certificates of candidacy.