Is October 31, 2018 a special non-working holiday in the Philippines?

34,425 views

Netizens are searching the internet including the Facebook and Twitter searches if October 31, 2018 is a special non-working holiday in the Philippines to give way to November 1, All Saints Day.

October 31 2018

Google Trends data reveal that there was a concerning spike in certain Google searches before October 31, 2018. (READ: #WalangPasok: Class suspensions for October 31, 2018)

The answer to the question is October 31, 2018 is a special non-working holiday, as declared by some areas and schools. (READ: #WalangPasok: Class suspensions for October 31, 2018)

Schools

  • De La Salle University – all levels, including work, at all campuses from October 31, 2018 to November 3, 2018
  • Far Eastern University – all campuses starting 12pm
  • Ateneo de Davao University – all levels
  • Manuel S. Enverga University
  • Baliuag University

In July last year, Malacañang released the list of regular and special holidays for 2018, which includes November 2, as additional special (non-working) day throughout the country supposedly to strengthen family ties.

Proclamation No. 269 said that the following dates are to be observed nationwide:

Regular Holidays

  • New Year’s Day – January 1 (Monday)
  • Maundy Thursday – March 29
  • Good Friday – March 30
  • Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Monday)
  • Labor Day – May 1 (Tuesday)
  • Independence Day – June 12 (Tuesday)
  • National Heroes Day – August 27 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Friday)
  • Christmas Day – December 25 (Tuesday)
  • Rizal Day – December 30 (Sunday)

Special (Non-Working) Days

  • Chinese New Year – February 16 (Friday)
  • EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Sunday)
  • Black Saturday – March 31
  • Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Tuesday)
  • All Saints Day – November 1 (Thursday)
  • Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Monday)
  • Additional special (non-working) days – November 2 (Friday); December 24 (Monday)

Recent Class Suspension Announcements

This is a developing story. Please refresh the page for updates.

comments