Is December 26, 2018 a special non-working holiday in the Philippines?

22,869 views

Netizens are searching the internet including the Facebook and Twitter searches if December 26, 2018 is a special non-working holiday in the Philippines. (READ: Malacañang suspends gov’t work on December 26, 2018)

Google Trends data reveal that there was a concerning spike in certain Google searches before December 12, 2018.

The answer to the question is Malacañang has not declared December 26, 2018 as a special non-working holiday.

The holidays for 2018 are specified in Proclamation No. 269, which was signed by President Rodrigo Duterte on July 17, 2017.

Below are the holidays listed by Proclamation No. 269. December 26 is not listed as a holiday:

Regular Holidays

  • New Year’s Day – January 1 (Monday)
  • Maundy Thursday – March 29
  • Good Friday – March 30
  • Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Monday)
  • Labor Day – May 1 (Tuesday)
  • Independence Day – June 12 (Tuesday)
  • National Heroes Day – August 27 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Friday)
  • Christmas Day – December 25 (Tuesday)
  • Rizal Day – December 30 (Sunday)

Special (Non-Working) Days

  • Chinese New Year – February 16 (Friday)
  • EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Sunday)
  • Black Saturday – March 31
  • Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Tuesday)
  • All Saints Day – November 1 (Thursday)
  • Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Monday)
  • Additional special (non-working) days – November 2 (Friday); December 24 (Monday)

comments